Structured Storms: Classical Chaos

Structured Storms: Classical Chaos

Streaming April 29, 2022 – May 28, 2022

Stormy and passionate music from the Ashland Symphony Orchestra and conductor Isaac Selya.

This program features musical depiction of stormy weather and unsettled emotions, expressed by three composers whose music focused on formal structure.
Mendelssohn’s Hebrides Overture uses undulating string figures to express the rolling waves of the water outside of Fingal’s Cave, Scotland, which inspired the piece. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings presents stormy passionate music encapsulated in a classical formal structure inspired by Tchaikovsky’s favorite composer, Mozart, whose music closes the program. Mozart’s Symphony No.25 is an example of the Sturm und Drang (“storm and stress”) artistic trend that swept through all the art forms of Europe in the 1770’s. Mozart uses jagged, syncopated rhythms throughout. And although most pieces from the classical era would conclude with a happy ending, Mozart maintains the severe mood and minor tonality all the way to the end.

Isaac Selya, Conductor

Martha Buckner, Executive Director
Seth Morrison, Stage Manager
Luke Warkall, Assistant Stage Manager
Philip McNaull, Technical Director

Buy $24 Share
Structured Storms: Classical Chaos